Steinbach Main Street c.1918 looking south. The building on the far right was actually a barber shop owned by the Peters Family. Note the "Stag" beer sign on the left of building. Beer and haircut,.two bits?! Peter B. Peters would later relocate next to Henry Coote's hotel where he built the Tourist Hotel in 1926. Same spot looking south 103 years later
Enclosed sleigh, known as a "tap schleijdi" used by many Mennonites in Canada. A stone was heated in the household stove,then wrapped and placed inside the sleigh to keep hands and feet warm. Circa 1947
Yes, that’s right. The very first shuttle service which took passengers all the way from downtown Steinbach to the brand new Clearspring Shopping Mall, began service on April 30th 1980! Passengers aboard the British Route Master could enjoy a scenic view along the way. You’d pass the sights of Stony Brook, Jakes Husky and some of the last prairie grasses around Steinbach that would eventually turn their sod over to pavement in the next 35 years. The prairie grasses are long gone, as is the British double decker bus that once whisked eager shoppers to the new Utopian shopping experience...
Hauling logs Steinbach Main Street ca.1928 The Reimer name